Product Shot
  • Product Shot
  • Album Cover

• Two vicious circles, one containing her ‘82 cult fave LP, and the second, tracks from her sole 45 and a
plethora of unheard gems!

• Includes liner notes by art historian Debbe Goldstein and a lyric book!

• Double CD or double LP cut by Kevin Gray and pressed in the USA on colored vinyl!

    Retail: $24.99
    Price: $19.99
    You Save: $5.00 (20.0%)

      Sundazed Direct Drive Free Shipping

      The first ever collection of Jill Kroesen’s wildly
      inventive & often dystopian compositions from ‘72 through ‘84. Includes her art rock masterpiece Stop Vicious Cycles, her coveted ‘80 single, an equal amount of unissued treasures, and copious liner notes. Finally Jill Kroesen on
      2LP or 2CD!

      Her voice is large, unique, and charismatic. Her presence is charming and flirty. One can’t help but be drawn in. When she sings about fascism and dictators and bad boyfriends, the audience almost blushes. The songs are authentic, and there is always a shock of recognition. This record could serve as a who's who of the New York downtown scene. Bill Laswell (Material) plays bass. Peter Gordon (Love of Life Orchestra) plays sax. Jody Harris (Raybeats) plays guitar. David Van Tieghem (LOLO, Steve Reich) percus-ses. Fred Smith (Television, Tom Verlaine) plays bass. Composer George Lewis plays trombone. The music? Basically torch songs, with a strong blues beat and a lot of atmospheric noise in the background. Kroesen, a former Love of Lifer herself, here sings her own breed of wordy dirges-more a running recitative than individual songs. Socio-political concern rears its ugly head, but pianist "Blue" Gene Tyranny can really play the blues. For those who liked Patti Smith's "Pissing in a River.”

      -Trouser Press (issue 91, 1983 in reference to Stop Vicious Cycles (LP1 here))


      Wayne Hayes Blues • I Am Not Seeing That You Are Here • Ride Your Pony • Honey, You’re So Mean • I’m Sorry I’m Such A Weenie • I Am Not Seeing That You Are Here (reprise) • Alexander The Great • Fay Shism Blues (extended version) • I’m Just A Human Being • You’ve Really Got A Hold On Me (previously unissued) • I Really Want To Bomb You • Freak Of Nature • The Celebration of S&M (previously unissued) • Sweet Sanity (previously unissued) • Fuck Off (previously unissued) • St. Bridges (previously unissued) • Broken Wing (previously unissued) • Invited To Heaven (previously unissued) • I’m Not Seeing That You Are Here (Instro)* • Napoleon (Unissued)* • Alexander The Great (Electronic Version)* • Love Is Like Poison (Unissued)* • Fuck Off Instrumental (Unissued)*