Retail: $109.98
Price: $76.99
You Save: $32.99 (30.0%)

out of stock

    Sundazed Direct Drive Free Shipping

    The Velvet Underground - The Quine Tapes: a definitive document of the live Velvet Underground.

    6-LPs packaged in three striking gatefold jackets with poster/handbill inserts, rare photos and a deluxe box

    The Velvet Underground's revolutionary mix of boundary-breaking sonic extremism and transgressive lyrical content changed the face of rock 'n' roll forever. It was on stage that the band's unprecedented vision truly came to life. But the band never made any official live recordings, leaving fans with the small handful of live Velvets tapes that have emerged over the years. Undeniably, the most comprehensive and compelling embodiment of the Velvet Underground's live brilliance is the bountiful cache of 1969 tapes recorded by Velvets fan and future alt-rock guitar icon Robert Quine (who would go on to play with the Velvet Underground's leader Lou Reed more than a decade later).

    The Velvet Underground - The Quine Tapes is a definitive document of the live Velvet Underground. Captured on tape by Quine in San Francisco and St. Louis between May and December of 1969, the recordings feature the Velvet Underground's final lineup of Reed, guitarist Sterling Morrison, drummer Moe Tucker and bassist Doug Yule. The material includes incendiary performances of such seminal Velvets standards as "I'm Waiting for the Man," "What Goes On," "Sunday Morning," "Femme Fatale," "White Light/White Heat," "Venus in Furs," "Heroin," "New Age," "The Black Angel's Death Song" and "Rock and Roll." Also included is a rare performance of the "Follow the Leader," an original song which the band never officially released, as well as stunningly different versions of the epic "Sister Ray."

    These historic Velvet Underground performances are now available on vinyl for the first time ever. To commemorate the occasion, Sundazed Music has designed a lavish six-LP box set, with the discs packaged in three separate gatefold jackets and contained in a deluxe box. The package features incredible new cover art commissioned especially for this vinyl release, plus rare photos, Verve label repro's, poster/handbill inserts, and detailed liner notes by Rolling Stone's David Fricke. In keeping with Sundazed's usual exacting standards, this set has been newly mastered by Bob Irwin from the original source material and is perfectly pressed on high-definition virgin vinyl.

    "Sundazed take vinyl mastering and pressing very seriously, and the package here is rugged and heavy and sounds fantastic."
    Mark Richardson,


    I’m waiting For The Man • It’s Just Too Much Song • What Goes On • I Can’t Stand It • Some Kinda Love • Foggy Notion • After Hours • I’m Sticking With You • Sister Ray • Sunday Morning • Follow The Leader • Femme Fatale • White Light White Heat • Venus In Furs • Heroin • New Age • Sister Ray (Part 1) • Sister Ray (Part 2) • The Black Angel’s Death Song • Over You • I’m Waiting For The Man • Rock And Roll • Ride Into The Sun • Sister Ray / Foggy Notion (Part 1) • Sister Ray / Foggy Notion (Part 2)