Product Shot
  • Product Shot
  • Disc and booklet image
  • Cover art

• Double CD of lost treasures from the personal collection of Mimi Roman!

• Features in depth liner notes by Joe Hopkins and commentary by Mimi herself!

Check out this wonderful one hour documentary on Mimi Roman, put together by our friend Joe Hopkins! Carve some time out of your day for this one, it's great. She's a marvelous woman and we're so excited to be working with her and celebrating some of her wonderful work as Mimi Roman and her sassy alter ego Kitty Ford!

Retail: $24.99
Price: $19.99
You Save: $5.00 (20.0%)

    Sundazed Direct Drive Free Shipping

    “A door would open up and I would just go through it, and I just kept doing that for all my life." — Mimi Roman

    That is how Mimi Roman, at 87, tells us of her life, including her time as a successful country singer in the 1950s and early 60s. But it took talent and a strong, beautifully distinctive voice for those doors to open, and to go far once on the other side. It also took guts and plenty of stamina for a 20-year-old Jewish cowgirl from Brooklyn to make her way to country music fame, albeit too briefly, before taking herself out of the game at the ripe old age of 28.

    Although many country stars from the 50s and 60s have long faded into obscurity, Mimi Roman, for more than 60 years, has gently persisted in the hearts and minds of pure country, honky-tonk, and rockabilly fans around the world.

    But what makes Mimi different from many country stars from that “Golden Age” who now reside somewhere in anonymity?

    For many, the answer will be found in this special double album, The First Of The Brooklyn Cowgirls, which features newly released and restored personal acetates, publishing demos and radio and television transcriptions recorded during Mimi Roman's career.

    Mimi's story, like her voice, is remarkable.  — Joe Hopkins (music historian)

    First Of The Brooklyn Cowgirls almost exclusively features unissued material. The double CD is sourced from one of a kind reels and acetates taken from Mimi’s personal collection. These tracks are almost as rare as a Jewish girl from Brooklyn singing country music in the ‘50s & ‘60s!

    2LP set also available!


    Introducing Mimi • Weary Blues From Waitin’ (Hank Williams) • Announcing The Winner • Honky Tonk Blues (Hank Williams) • Hank Williams Medley (Hank Williams) • Never Ramble, Never Gamble, Never Roam (Allen-Patton-Eager) • I’m The One Who Loves You (Stuart Hamblen) • I’m Lookin’ For Some Lovin’ (Clay Eager) • Comes From Brooklyn • Wrap It Up And Save It w/Intro And Outro (Al Blasingame) 2:42 • Route 66 (Bobby Troup) • Weary Blues From Waitin (Hank Williams) • My Tears Are Beginning To Show (Carol Bass) • Rocky Road Blues (Bill Monroe) • The Wind Up (Dave Coleman) • Gotta Have My Baby Back (Floyd Tillman) • You Win Again (Hank Williams) • Born In East Virginia (Traditional) • Four Foot Deep In Tear Drops • Rose Colored Glasses • He's My Marathon Man • Twenty-One • You Mean All • World To Me • I'm Not A Child Any More • Folsom Prison Blues (Johnny Cash) • I Gotta Know (Paul Evans) • Dark Is The Night • Seasons Of My Heart (Darrell Edwards-George Jones) • What Am I Worth (Darrell Edwards-George Jones) • Dix-A-Billy (Evans-Harris-Reardon) • You're The One • Isle Of Golden Dreams (Walter Blaufuss-Gus Kahn) • The Way The Wind Blows • Fire In My Soul • There’s No Holding You*

    * CD Only